That's it! I can't take anymore reading! I've been reading all day, and it is driving me crazy. I am not used to such mental stimulation! I guess that's why they call it Columbia University. As you can see, I even changed the color of my blog to match! Well, tomorrow is my big day, and I don't feel nervous. I'm anxious because I haven't finished reading everything I was supposed to read so I don't know what to expect. We start off with self-awareness training everyday - journaling (Amanda you'd love it)! You know I'm not one for writing things down, so this will definitely be a learning experience for me.
Yesterday was the 2nd part of our orientation, and we had a great time at Morningside Park. The park was beautiful, and if you can believe it (I don't), I actually enjoyed being outside. In fact, I've spent quite a bit of time outside. I had a chance to meet and team up with my 4 members of my study group. We are all extremely different (intentional grouping I've been told), and we will be working together on a project due in August. I don't want to bore you with every intricacy of my day, but I will say I found the cutest cafe a block down from the dorm, and you can just sit and read there as long as you want. My favorite "bebida" is the hot/or iced chai tea latte pictured here... (corny I know)...
I am truly loving the atmosphere here. I did manage to do something "Denise-like" today. I decided to take a venture into the Harlem/Spanish Harlem area. And in my haste to walk like a New Yorker, I fell in the middle of the street! Nobody even stopped; it was as if I was insignificant! What's up with that! OH well... have to get back to reading! Love you!

4 comments:
Oh baby!!! I am so so proud of you!!! and I love it that you found a cute cafe and are experiencing all of these exciting adventures- even the creepy van guy is an adventure. xoxo be safe and no more falling... sorry sugar but had to laugh but then I got mad no one helped you -NO MORE FALLING!!! xo can't wait to read more about your experience. xo j
Finally got the blog. Loving the pictures, keep those coming. We missed you today. Made lunch (rice and carnita with green beans in gravy.) Not the same without our second kid sitting here. Seriously considering getting a cut out of you to glue on your chair at the dinner table. In the meantime stay safe and have fun. Remember...left foot, right foot, left foot, right foot....
Dennikins,
I had to laugh for a moment when I read the comment...i fell and no one helped me...I am glad that you're were not run over by the metro bus. I must tell you that you missed out on a great lunch. It wasn't the same without you. I hope you continue the adventures.
Love,
Anna
Hehehe had to laugh at this one. I remember falling in MX and you were laughing!! So glad you picked yourself right back up! :)
So super-proud of you!! This is great, you are so ready for this, this is going to be awesome!! Can't wait to read about all your adventures! :)
Post a Comment